Orwell Astronomical Society (Ipswich)

Home Events

2021 Committee

Post

Incumbent

Responsibilities

Chairman
Andy Gibbs

chairman@oasi.org.uk

Overall agenda for OASI.
Chair committee meetings.
Treasurer
Paul Whiting, FRAS

treasurer@oasi.org.uk

Press, publicity and public outreach.
Observatory visits and tours.
Finance.
Secretary
Roy Gooding

secretary@oasi.org.uk

Public outreach (jointly with Treasurer).
Observatory decoration.
Committee member
James Appleton

info@oasi.org.uk

Committee meeting minutes.
Website.
Committee member
Martin Cook

membership@oasi.org.uk

Membership.
Maintenance.
Committee member
Matthew Leeks

security@oasi.org.uk

Security.
Committee member
Pete Richards

lectures@oasi.org.uk

Lecture Co-ordinator.
Committee member
Avtar Nagra

newbourne@oasi.org.uk

OASI@Newbourne Co-ordinator.
Committee member
John Wainwright

equipment@oasi.org.uk

Equipment Curator.
Committee member
Mike Whybray

workshops@oasi.org.uk

Astronomy workshops.
Child protection officer.
Committee member
Andy Willshere

library@oasi.org.uk

Librarian.


Martin Richmond-Hardy occupies the post of Newsletter Editor (not a committee role). You may send him items for the Newsletter via news@oasi.org.uk.

You may contact individuals using the email addresses above. If you don't know who to contact, send your query to the following email address and it will be forwarded appropriately: info@oasi.org.uk

OASI elects its committee at an AGM held annually in early January.

List of all committee members and officers to date.

Honorary President

Dr Allan Chapman, MA, D.Phil, FRAS.

Trustees

Mr Roy C Adams, Mr A Neil Morley and Mr David B Payne.

Charitable Status

OASI was entered onto the Register of Charities on 19 May 1976, with registered charity number 271313.

Affiliations

OASI is affiliated to the following organisations:

Logo_BAA.png
British Astronomical Association (BAA). OASI applied to the BAA for affiliation in June 1971 and was accepted in June 1972.
Logo_SPA.png
Society for Popular Astronomy (SPA). OASI is affiliated to the SPA. (OASI initially affiliated to the predecessor organisation of the SPA, the JAS, in August 1973.)
Logo_FAS.png
Federation of Astronomical Societies (FAS). OASI worked to support the formation of the FAS in 1974 and became an original member of the Federation.
Logo_SHA.png
Society for the History of Astronomy (SHA). OASI affiliated to the SHA on its formation in June 2002; OASI former chairman Ken Goward (1952-2009) was a founder member of the SHA.