Orwell Astronomical Society (Ipswich)

Home Events

Events


 

Date, Time & Location

Contact

Event

Mon 22 Apr 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Wed 24 Apr 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 01 May 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 06 May 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 08 May 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 15 May 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 16 May 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Fri 17 May 2024
19:30
Methodist Church Hall
Pete Richards lectures@oasi.org.uk
Lecture Meeting. Mike Frost, Director of the BAA Historical Section, The Yerkes Observatory. The lecture is one of several events celebrating the 150th anniversary of Orwell Park Observatory.
Poster.
Wed 22 May 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 27 May 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Astro News by Paul Whiting, FRAS.
Wed 29 May 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Fri 31 May 2024
20:00
Zoom
Andy Gibbs chairman@oasi.org.uk
Committee meeting. To be held via Zoom. All members are invited to attend.
Wed 05 Jun 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Sat 08 Jun 2024
10:00-16:00
Christchurch Park, outside the entrance to the mansion
Roy Gooding r.gooding908@btinternet.com
Public access event. Observing the sun safely. Booking not necessary.
NB: This event is TBC.
Mon 10 Jun 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 12 Jun 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Sun 16 Jun 2024
09:30
East Suffolk Wireless Revival
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Public access event. Solar observing.
(Booking not necessary.)
Wed 19 Jun 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 20 Jun 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Sat 22 Jun 2024
12:00-18:00
Mendlesham playing field, behind community centre
Roy Gooding r.gooding908@btinternet.com
Public access event. Solar observing at Mendlesham Village Fayre.
(Booking not necessary.)
Mon 24 Jun 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Wed 26 Jun 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 03 Jul 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 08 Jul 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 10 Jul 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 17 Jul 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 18 Jul 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Sat 20 Jul 2024
13.00-20:00 (possibly later)
Newbourne Village Hall
Pete Richards lectures@oasi.org.uk
Summer picnic, open to all members of OASI and their guests. Poster with further details.
Mon 22 Jul 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Astro News by Paul Whiting, FRAS.
Wed 24 Jul 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 31 Jul 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 07 Aug 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 12 Aug 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 14 Aug 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 15 Aug 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Wed 21 Aug 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Sun 25 Aug 2024
11:00-16:00
Bawdsey Radar Museum
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Public access event. Observing the Sun safely. NB: This event is run by Bawdsey Radar.
Mon 26 Aug 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Wed 28 Aug 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 04 Sep 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 09 Sep 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 11 Sep 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 18 Sep 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 19 Sep 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Mon 23 Sep 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Astro News by Paul Whiting, FRAS.
Wed 25 Sep 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Fri 27 Sep 2024
20:00
St Augustine's Community Hub
Pete Richards lectures@oasi.org.uk
Lecture Meeting. Paul Fellows, Chairman of Cambridge Astronomical Association, Where are the Sun’s Sisters?
Poster.
Wed 02 Oct 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 09 Oct 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 14 Oct 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 16 Oct 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 17 Oct 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Wed 23 Oct 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 28 Oct 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Wed 30 Oct 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 06 Nov 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 11 Nov 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Wed 13 Nov 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 20 Nov 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 21 Nov 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Mon 25 Nov 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Sky Notes by Bill Barton, FRAS.
Astro News by Paul Whiting, FRAS.
Wed 27 Nov 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 04 Dec 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Mon 09 Dec 2024
19:30
Newbourne Village Hall
Paul Whiting, FRAS newbourne@oasi.org.uk
Newbourne meeting - beginners and new members welcome!
Festive quiz night - bring the family, drinks and nibbles!
Wed 11 Dec 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Wed 18 Dec 2024
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.
Thu 19 Dec 2024
20:00
Zoom
Paul Whiting, FRAS treasurer@oasi.org.uk
Monthly Zoom meeting.
Wed 08 Jan 2025
20:15
Orwell Park Observatory
Martin Cook membership@oasi.org.uk
General observing for members of OASI.


Members of OASI are welcome to attend all events. Email the individuals listed above for further details.


Previous Events